Welcome!

Lessons

References and Resources

Documents

Assembly Guide

The Assembly Guide provides detailed instructions to assemble a Project BWET-STEM temperature logger using parts available on the internet.

Programming Guide

The Programming Guide provides instructions for loading the program onto the device..

Logger Documentation

This document provides detailed information on logger use and components of the device.

Source Code

Temperature Logger

The temperature logger source code was written to run on the Arduino Pro Trinket 3V, a microprocessor board that is Arduino-technology.

ChronoDot

The ChronoDot source code used to encode the current time was written to run on ChronoDot, an ultraprecise realtime clock that is Arduino-technology.

Project STEM is a unique, transdisciplinary program involves high school teachers and students from both Foundations of Technology classes and Environmental Science classes in two interrelated meaningful watershed educational experiences (MWEEs). By leveraging the assets developed by the Hood College Center for Coastal and Watershed studies, the GLOBE program, and the NOAA Environmental Science Training Center, Project STEM employs schoolyards as sites to monitor and assess the impacts of thermal pollution on local stream health. Students completing the program will understand the importance of urban environments as "heat islands" and the ways in which these impacts can be mitigated.


Center for Coastal and Watershed Studies
Hood College
401 Rosemont Ave
Frederick, MD 21701
http://ccws.hood.edu/
(301) 696-3318

in conjunction with

Department of Computer Science & Information Technology
Hood College
401 Rosemont Ave
Frederick, MD 21701
http://cs.hood.edu/
(301) 663-3131


 

News Links

Albedo

  • Interview, Teacher Toolbox, Images: The Albedo Effect, Urban Heat Islands, and Cooling Down Your Playground, Science Friday, October 2016: https://www.sciencefriday.com/educational-resources/the-albedo-effect-urban-heat-islands-and-cooling-down-your-playground/
  •  

    Climate Change

  • Climate Change Website: https://www.epa.gov/climatechange
  • NOAA State Annual Temperature and Rainfall Changes https://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/temp-and-precip/state-temps/
  •  

    Excessive/Extreme Heat Events

  • Excessive Heat Events Guidebook: https://www.epa.gov/heat-islands/excessive-heat-events-guidebook
  • Climate Change and Extreme Heat: What you can do to prepare. USEPA & CDC, October 2016. https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2016-10/documents/extreme-heat-guidebook.pdf
  •  

    Heat Islands and Mitigation

  • Climate Bits – videos on Urban Heat Islands and Albedo http://climatebits.umd.edu/
  • Fact Sheet: https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2016-09/documents/heat_island_4-page_brochure_508_120413.pdf
  • Document: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 2008. Reducing urban heat islands: Compendium of strategies. Draft. https://www.epa.gov/heat-islands/heat-island-compendium
  • Website: Measuring Heat Islands https://www.epa.gov/heat-islands/measuring-heat-islands
  • Website: U.S. EPA “What You Can do to reduce Heat Islands” https://www.epa.gov/heat-islands/what-you-can-do-reduce-heat-islands
  • Website: U.S. EPA “Using Trees and Vegetation to reduce Heat Islands” https://www.epa.gov/heat-islands/using-trees-and-vegetation-reduce-heat-islands
  • General Info: Heat Island Group at Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory https://heatisland.lbl.gov/
  • Hands-on Activity: Rooftop Gardens, by: Integrated Teaching and Learning Program, College of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Colorado Boulder https://www.teachengineering.org/activities/view/cub_rooftop_lesson01_activity1
  •  

     

    Soils

  • ICPRB Soils, Permeability, Percolation Presentation and Investigations https://www.potomacriver.org/resources/educator-resources/score-four/score-four-materials/
  •  

    Trees

  • Nature Conservancy Report October 2016: How Urban Trees Can Save Lives: https://global.nature.org/content/healthyair
  •  

    FYI...

  • Understanding Climate Change science and skepticism website: TONS of info here to read about the many arguments for and against climate change. https://wwww.skepticalscience.com/about.shtml
  •  

    Photos

    Loggers and Collection Devices

    Reference Site

    Student Assembly

    Teacher Workshop

    Lessons, Labs, & Logger Activities

    ONSET HOBO MX Pendant Temp 2201

    HOBOmobile

    The mobile application asociated with HOBO logger model.

    Register
    Cancel